UCSB Science Line
Sponge Spicules Nerve Cells Galaxy Abalone Shell Nickel Succinate X-ray Lens Lupine
UCSB Science Line
How it Works
Ask a Question
Search Topics
Our Scientists
Science Links
Contact Information
How many moons are there on planet Neptune and what are their names?
Question Date: 2007-01-26
Answer 1:

This is a nice question! The internet has interesting sites where you can look at the moons and learn about them. The next is a good one where you can have fun and look at the pictures:


This site says that Neptune has eight moons. The main moons are Nereid, Proteus, and Triton, plus five smaller moons, Naiad, Thalassa, Despina, Galatea, and Larissa. Triton and Proteus orbit close to Neptune; Nereid is in a distant orbit.

Triton is an interesting moon because it is the only moon in our Solar System with a retrograde orbit (orbiting in the opposite direction than its primary, Neptune, is rotating). Triton is also the coldest measured object in our Solar System, and Nereid is the Solar System object with the most eccentric orbit.

The eight moons of Neptune in order of distance from Neptune are:

Click Here to return to the search form.

University of California, Santa Barbara Materials Research Laboratory National Science Foundation
This program is co-sponsored by the National Science Foundation and UCSB School-University Partnerships
Copyright © 2020 The Regents of the University of California,
All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Terms of Use